Who We Are

Who We Are

Canadian Garden Council

The Canadian Garden Council is the national umbrella body for provincial and national garden organizations. The Council manages: Canada’s Garden Route, Garden Days, Garden Tourism Conference and Garden Tourism Awards.


To champion the garden experience sector’s contributions to the well-being of Canadians and the sustainability of our communities and to promote the joys and benefits of gardens, landscapes and green infrastructure.


To generate development and growth of the garden experience sector by:

  • being the national platform through which garden organizations and organizers come together with common goals;
  • developing programs, resources and services;
  • promoting the role and benefits of Canadian gardens and gardening activities as integral components of our communities and
  • their tourism experiences;
  • fostering increased visitation to, and interest in, gardens and participation in gardening activities.

Canadian Garden Council Board

British Columbia – BC Garden Tourism Coalition
Dave Cowen
General Manager, The Butchart Gardens

Dale Ryan
Director Public Relations, Sales & Marketing, The Butchart Gardens

Alberta - Representative
Ruby Swanson (Chair, Membership Committee)
General Manager, Devonian Botanical Garden

Manitoba - Representative
Gerald Dieleman
Director Horticulture, Assiniboine Park Conservancy

Ontario – Ontario Garden Tourism Coalition
Harry Jongerden
Executive Director, Toronto Botanical Garden

Québec – Association des grands jardins du Québec
Alexander Reford (Council Chair)
Director, Jardins de Métis/Reford Gardens

New Brunswick - Representatives
Jean Aucoin
Director, New Brunswick Botanical Garden

Tim Henderson
General Manager, Kingsbrae Garden

Nova Scotia - Representatives
Trish Fry
General Manager, Annapolis Royal Historic Gardens

Tracy Jessen and Helen MacLean
Halifax Public Gardens

Newfoundland - Representative
Liz Klose (Chair, Garden Days Committee)
Director, Memorial University of Newfoundland Botanic Garden (MUNBG)

Canadian Nursery Landscape Association
Bill Hardy
Chair, Marketing Committee

Anne Bowering
Communications Coordinator

Communities in Bloom
Raymond Carrière
Director, Communities in Bloom

Stay in the know

Get Garden news, events and more straight to your inbox!